Website in the making C&C Please

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by ShutterMOM, Mar 5, 2009.

1. ShutterMOM

ShutterMOM
    [OP]

www.photobyloretta.ca

That's my new website. I could use any suggestions you got for me. I think it looks plain... I'm only putting up the website for people to check out some pictures to see if they want to hire me or not, basic information, you know. oh, and for the pricing... any comments would be appreciated cause I really don't know what to charge....

Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  2. Cheddar

Red is the New Green

$85/hour for Baby Sitting?

Damn, I only charged like $5 when I was a kid. :lol:

3. Arod

I am no expert on site design so I am no help in that regard...but...some items on the site are rather cheesy such as the light bulb on the contact page, calculator on the pricing page and the faux reflection on the welcome page

4. SheOfManyChildren

Agree with Aaron.

Also don't like:

the white box around your name on the front
    the $ after the prices
    the babysitting/petsitting is odd
    too many "pleases" on the Contact page
    I wouldn't include the "I like to work with a white or black background" bit
    if you are "not limited" to the services listed, what else do you offer and why aren't you listing them?
    the reflections in the slideshow are really distracting, especially since it reflects your watermark as well

5. SheOfManyChildren

Also, if you are going to refer to copyright issues/law, I would do a personal run-down in layman's terms rather than post a link to the government site.

What's included in your sitting fee? If nothing, you need to say so. You will get asked CONSTANTLY.

Rather than having 3 sperate sitting fees, (which make you sound like a dogsitter and babysitter btw).....have ONE session fee with $15 add-ons.

6. ShutterMOM

ShutterMOM
    [OP]

"biting my nails nervously while waiting for the replies"