Video card problem with BF1942 game

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Stan, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. Stan

    Stan
    [OP]
    fashionably late

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary
    After a while, my video card fucks up and it loses shit and I can play. Like, it loses the sand in the desert and shows water and shit and I can't see anything. I'm running the up to date video card drivers. I'm running XP and the video card is a MSI Geforce 4 MX420 64mb.

    I know the easiest and most expensive fix is to buy a better video card.. Any ideas how to fix this, software wise? Anyone have this problem?

    [​IMG]

    Stan
     
  2. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    try turning down the detail for certain things in video options.. also, what speed is the PC? how much RAM? if it does it after awhile and not right away it seems like your resources are diminishing.
     
  3. Fr3nChY

    You Guessed it.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Update your video card drivers I had the same problem and that fixed it.
     
  4. IXLR8

    I concur

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hali
    Sorry to change to topic a bit, but i have a terrible frame rate when running Halo. I'm running this with a 2.8ghz cpu, 512mb ram, 128 meg vid card so I shouldn't be getting this problem. Every other game works fine, any ideas?
     
  5. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    what else do you have running when you play? Ive never had a problem with Halo and Im on a 1.47ghz.. but I have 1gb of ram
     
  6. IXLR8

    I concur

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hali
    mIRC, but I usually have that running when I'm playing other games too (Max Payne, Tiger Woods) and they work perfect...is Halo that much of a media hog?
     
  7. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    Halo is actually, its the engine its built on.. Besides, Halo sux, get Soldier of Fortune 2
     
  8. Jake

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Halifax
    :)
     
  9. Stan

    Stan
    [OP]
    fashionably late

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary
    I have a xp1800+ (1.533ghz) and 768mb of ram. It doesn't do it right away, and I only have the video settings on medium and 800x600.

    Stan
     
  10. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    try running a diagnostic program on your video RAM. could be an issue there....which would in turn lead to buying a new video card.
     
  11. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    I have a 64mb Geforce 2 card as well, and I have no problems.. Im telling you, if it takes a while to do it, your system is running out of resources.. although it could also be the card heating up, do you have good cooling in the system?
     
  12. Stan

    Stan
    [OP]
    fashionably late

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary
    I have the oem cpu fan that came with my cpu and 2 case fans.

    Stan
     
  13. Ed

    Ed
    .

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    i have a geforce 2 32 mb card and it runs fine for me... and my system is only a 900mhz :shrug:
     
  14. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,597
    Likes Received:
    3,810
    Location:
    Halifax
    By latest drivers, you mean you have the detonator drivers installed right ?
     
  15. nb132

    Drunk Batman hates you

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    28,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Tha 36 Chambers
    bwahahahaha...i converted another to the sof2 side! finee i'm still waiting to whoop ur ass...but ur never around to play
     

Share This Page