1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TV Out help

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by SilverMan, Sep 14, 2004.

  1. SilverMan

    SilverMan
    [OP]
    The Spud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Porter's Lake
    I had the PC connected to the TV in the living room on the weekend; I had it connected to the stereo as was wanting to view the playlist on the screen.

    Problem is this.... I have picture, but the picture is so blurry that i cannot read any of the text on the screen. There didn't seem to be any way to adjust the blurryness of the picture. I tried connected it with s-video and also rca cables but the result is the same. Any ideas why? How can I fix it?

    The card is an ati radeon 9600se

    Thanks
     
  2. Dural

    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    Is it blurry when you play video's etc?
     
  3. SilverMan

    SilverMan
    [OP]
    The Spud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Porter's Lake
    hooked up to a tv: yes

    with the monitor: no

    I tried it on 2 diff tvs as well.....same prob
     
  4. Dural

    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    Possibly your screen resolution is too high or too low for the TV to handle. I use 800x600 when piping out to the tv. Other then that maybe try increasing your computers default font size.
     
  5. Fr3nChY

    You Guessed it.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Mines the same way but when I play a movie or games its no longer blurry.

    Its only blurry when I search the web or have text on the screen. I tried alot of different things but have never succeded in getting it clear.If you fix it let me know.
     
  6. GiPWeb

    Me is I

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Look for the Leaf
    theres really nuthing you can do to get around it. the tv runs at 320x240 so even to make 640x480 it has to interpolate it (i think thats what they call it) either way you'll never get yur text to look right. TVTool might help a bit. It will definitly help if you have issues ith the way the video looks as it will help reduce flicker and the such.

    G.i.P

    BTW if you wanted it to look good you could always buy a big screen l c d tv or hdtv. If you got the extra money lying around. That would fix it.
     
  7. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    76,353
    Likes Received:
    5,324
    Location:
    Halifax
    The best I got it is when I switch my vega to 1080i mode or whatever it's called (higher res) .. it's still not perfect though.
     
  8. John Doe

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    You can install a line-level converter
     
  9. Jake

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,597
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Halifax
    You wont be able to make it very crisp without a HDTV....or something that can handle the resolution.
     
  10. shawnmcw

    no i am not a noob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Brunswick,
    how bout a nice big wallmount flatpanel monitor? :D
     
  11. nb132

    Drunk Batman hates you

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    28,903
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Tha 36 Chambers
    yea....it's perfect on my samsung....ahhhh yes.

    but lower your resolution, to like like noels old screenshots lol
    800x600 should be fine, increase the font size a touch, and manually change it in browser etc
    of course in firefox you don't even have to do that, you can just hold ctrl and scroll for bigger/smaller
     
  12. John Doe

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Or a line-level converter, as stated above.
     
  13. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    you can do that in IE too
     
  14. Teknic

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    Bottom line is a computer being converted from High Res to a normal TV will never allow you to read text. Been drilled into my head all my life about how a TV is much lower res than a monitor.

    Learn to deal with it, or spend more money. lol. It's much easier to have both your monitor and TV hooked up. Need to read text, switch on the monitor. Of course, if you're taking the computer elsewhere to use, then it's not a great option.
     

Share This Page