*.tpl files

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Dural, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. Dural

    Dural
    [OP]
    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    Anyone aware of what they are or any sites on how to manage/edit these files.
     
  2. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,991
    Likes Received:
    4,021
    Location:
    Halifax
    They are phpbb template files

    edit them as if they were HTML. You can control template variables in the php code for the forum. When it creates the template, it assigns variables, populates the tpl with the variables and dumps it into the stream.
     
  3. Dural

    Dural
    [OP]
    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    Don't suppose there is some sort of include file option is there. I have an iframe set up now but I'd rather not do that.
     
  4. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,991
    Likes Received:
    4,021
    Location:
    Halifax
    :wtf:

    wtf are you talking about ? :D
     
  5. Dural

    Dural
    [OP]
    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    Code:
    <?php include filename.php ?>
    
    or
    
    <?php require filename.php ?>
    
    
     
  6. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,991
    Likes Received:
    4,021
    Location:
    Halifax
    include ("filename.php");

    or

    include_once ("filename.php");

    or

    require ("filename.php");

    or

    require_once("filename.php");

    don't include a .tpl file though if thats what your thinking
     
  7. Dural

    Dural
    [OP]
    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    no I want to put that code inside the .tpl file

    I tried last night with no success but I didn't know if it was because the .tpl file doesn't accept that code or if I had the syntex incorrect.
     
  8. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,991
    Likes Received:
    4,021
    Location:
    Halifax
    whoa... don't put actual php code in your template file... the template is just the look... put the code in the php file that creates the template.
     
  9. Dural

    Dural
    [OP]
    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    The template file ends after the spot where I want to put the calendar so it looks like I'm stuck with the iframe to insert the calendar where I want it.

    Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page