1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tattoos

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by HairyAss, Aug 2, 2021.

1. HairyAss

HairyAss
    [OP]
    Cheese on Toast

I’ve never wanted a tattoo in my life. I’ve admired others, my wife has 2 (small) ones, but it’s never been something I’ve wanted.

Something’s changed. Now I do. What’s a good process here? I kind of know what I want but I’m not an artist. Find a reputable tattoo artist and see what they come up with? I don’t even really know where I want it.

I dunno if any of the crowd left here on RC is in the tattoo club but figured I’d throw it out here.

2. Grifter

Bluh?

I have 2. Obviously I chose something I will always be passionate about. On my left arm is a Celtic knot. On my right arm is the fire department Maltese cross with a Canadian flag imbedded and the gaelic words fir na tine. (Men of fire). Choose something you love, something that will age well (nothing overly fine or something that will turn into a blob of ink as you age. (ie the 90s tribal tattoos.).

Colour is good but fades with age. Make sure the artist has a consistent portfolio and "gets" what you want to get. Otherwise the work may be inconsistent if they don't get it or care.

chainsaw likes this.
  3. KMD

KMD

I have two. One a tree, career choice forestry, on my back shoulder. The other is a griffin, guardian of the divine :toothpick
    I am thinking about getting another one. My nephew and God Son passed away in Dec 2019 and I want to get a simple one about a spot on the highway that we drove together and I get tears in my eyes every time I think about this spot.

4. MRA

MRA

Find a good artist, position on body will have a big effect on design, things fit better in certain places, don't cheap out, you really get what you pay for

5. David Puddy

yeah, that's right

asian lettering up the middle of your back for sure

6. C. Mike Hunt