1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

reformatting

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by shadowthief, Jan 26, 2005.

  1. shadowthief

    Boom

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto/Halifax
    I need to reformat my hard drive drive but have not yet done it by-myself
    can anyone lend some help on this process

    Thanx
     
  2. Lowvez

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Backup all your shit...what operating system? Win98, XP?
     
  3. shadowthief

    Boom

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto/Halifax
    well it was win 98 then updated to XP
     
  4. Hoyt

    ...

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Glasgow
    For XP:
    back up onto disk or over network
    Boot XP CD-ROM(may need to change boot proirity in bios)
    Enter to setup Windows
    F8 agreement
    Gives option to repair- ESC for new install
    Gives existing partitions, I delete them and create new ones
    so if its just one drive, delete existing partition(D, ENTER, L)
    then Enter to setup windows
    format with NTFS, not quick
    or fat32 if prefered and under 20gb
     
  5. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    76,385
    Likes Received:
    5,355
    Location:
    Halifax
    get the pc to me, I'll take it to work and do it for ya.
     
  6. ZorK

    I post, therefore I exist

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    waaaaaaay down south
    100 bucks! :D
     
  7. Viet1965

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey after formatting you should partition your hard drive. That way next time you want to format you don't need to back up all your shit. Just place it in one logical drive with your OS in it and then format the other logical drive, the one with all the shit in it you don't want. Saves time and hasn't failed me yet.

    Viet1965
     
  8. visual_kool

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,690
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    the valley
    Um, no. Why not re-partition and then format them both? Otherwise you'd have to use something like partition magic to do it.

    Get a program like ghost or drive image and take regular backups. Then even if the hard drive fails, you're back up in less then 1/2 hour with the new drive.
     

Share This Page