Reformating question...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by dpwu32, Apr 28, 2004.

  1. dpwu32

    dpwu32
    [OP]
    Is it summer yet?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    12,526
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Edmonton
    So my computer has a few of the AGOBOT viruses, and it keeps me from using any sort of antivirus programs, and I recently had all my data backed up, so I want to reformat. I'm assuming that should ditch the viruses, and allow me to reinstall all of my antivirus software to prevent it happening again right?

    Now to my real question, I've got all of the reinstallation discs etc that came with my computer, but how do I go about reformatting? I've done it once before, but that was with Dell tech support on the phone, and I don't feel like calling them again if I can help it.

    Any help appreciated... :)
     
  2. JBI

    JBI
    tight hole stimulator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mount Uniacke , NS
  3. dpwu32

    dpwu32
    [OP]
    Is it summer yet?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    12,526
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I can't go to either of those links because the virus shuts down/blocks all antivirus programs websites. :-/
     
  4. JBI

    JBI
    tight hole stimulator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mount Uniacke , NS
    I'll download the program and email it to you if you want.Copy the program to a floppy and then run it from there ,maybe try it in safe mode.
     
  5. dpwu32

    dpwu32
    [OP]
    Is it summer yet?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    12,526
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Edmonton
    That'd be cool. I'll shoot you a PM. :)
     

Share This Page