Re; Homes - Gas tankless water heaters

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by David Puddy, Mar 16, 2019.

1. David Puddy

yeah, that's right

Who's running one? There's a lot of quirks that can happen in a sub-par model like the "cold water sandwich" which i'm just learning exists.

Efficient they are, but at the cost that the water can take longer to get to the point of use or that you get the cold water sandwich.

Rheem's, Rinai, and Bosch seem to be the best of the manufacturer's. that fucking useless home show we just had at he Cunard centre didnt have anything on domestic water heating

2. 17

teenage dirtbag

I was going to go with one when I moved in since the water heater we had was 14 years old and I wanted to get ahead of a disaster and replace it. It seems that gas tankless is the way to go for colder climates, but i don’t have gas so I just went with a new tank unit.

3. Matt30

I can’t speak too much about the gas heaters, as i do not have a gas licence and personally do not have gas in my home so I’m not sure what costs to run are. But a few of my friends have them and their only complaint is you do gotta run the water for 10-15 seconds for it to reach temperature. Then there’s the maintenance and descaling costs.

Personally, if it’s a house you see yourself in for life I would invest in a high efficiency lifetime warranty electric hot water tank. The most you will ever spend on them is a couple $30 elements after 10-15 years of use. I have one and have installed many of the Rheem Marathon series. They’re awesome.

4. David Puddy

yeah, that's right

Yeah people get so wet about saving on utility bills and cutting down on electricity that they forget the Gucci energy efficient systems going in don’t last forever and cost a lot.
    That’s what I’m trying to weigh out right now. The tankless is nice because it save s on size as well. I’m converting my basement into an apartment so its a nice space saver.