Print fulfillment options?

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by majaphoto, Feb 7, 2009.

1. majaphoto

majaphoto
    [OP]

Ok, my head is spinning from reading all the options out there... but what do you folks recommend for a print fulfillment set-up? I'm a noob to this sort of thing, but have a gig lined up for the summer where I am hoping to sell photos to the competitors at some sports events. I haven't ruled out doing my own fulfillment, and have heard there's a decent Lightroom gallery plug-in that emails you client selections. But I'm thinking a third-party fulfillment situation would make things easiest while I focus on getting the shots. Here are some specifics:

1) Galleries can be public (no passwords needed)
    2) I need a main page where all of my galleries are listed and updated after I upload each new event.
    3) I want this to be hosted on my own domain, so no "me.smugmug.com"
    4) Would like to offer full range of print sizes plus some possible mounting options, but no mugs, mousepads etc.
    5) Would prefer a canadian site, but am open to any US site that you can recommend that ships quickly and without any customs issues.

If you've got any advice to share, I'm all ears!

2. tracker

none

You can use your own domain at smugmug.com, you have to set it up with your host.

Like prints.yourdomain.com or hell, you could even dump yourdomain.com on smugmug.

http://www.smugmug.com/help/power-custom-domain

But if you can hire a print monkey, on-site sales will eclipse on-line sales. It's easier to get that $20 in the pocket than $20 off the Visa. That has been my experience, anyhow.

Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  3. Eclipse

countrygal