omfg (hd issues)

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by spender, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. spender

    spender
    [OP]
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    again...

    so i had issues with my lacie HD, and it has been a bit of a bitch since then. so i have replaced it tonight. i replaced it with a Comstar USB 2.0 Mobile HD. it doesnt require an ac plug, just used 2 usb ports. i plugged it in, popped up fine. But when i tried to drag something to it, it says:

    "The item could not be moved because "new volume" cannot be modified"

    any suggesions ???
     
  2. chainsaw

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Halifax
    just on a limb here, but is it formatted?
     
  3. pcphotos

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    yeah , format it.
     
  4. tracker

    none

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a comstar 2.5" drive, it only uses one port on my mac... I don't use the "end" one, the one in the middle works for me.
     
  5. spender

    spender
    [OP]
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    thanks guys, got a little confused with the whole "partition" and what not.
     
  6. spender

    spender
    [OP]
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    so. i got it working fine on my computer (mac). but i took it into my work today, and tried to get some files off of my bosses computer (pc) and it would not show up anywheres on his computer. is this because it is formatted specifically for a mac ? And if so, is there a way to format for both ? thanks again
     
  7. RoryTate

    Buffer the streaming media unto me.

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,565
    Likes Received:
    769
    Location:
    Rigaud, QC
    Sounds like it. I've had a PC formatted external drive readable by a Mac, but it couldn't write to it. Sounds like the same sort of situation here.
     
  8. spender

    spender
    [OP]
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    when i go to reformat it. my options are as follows:

    mac os extended (journaled)
    mac osx extended
    mac osx extended (case-sensitive, jounaled)
    mac osx extended (case-sensitive)
    ms-dos file system
    unix file system
    free space
     
  9. mcgraths

    Timestopper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quispamsis, NB
    ms-dos file system

    Should be readable by both mac and windows.
     
  10. spender

    spender
    [OP]
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    doesnt ms stand for microsoft, leading me to think that wouldnt work
     
  11. tracker

    none

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Microsoft Disk Operating System

    It uses the FAT32 allocation system which OSX and XP/98/Vista can read/write to.
     
  12. mcgraths

    Timestopper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quispamsis, NB
    Yes, OS X can read it no problems.
     

Share This Page