MS XP Problem

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by DUKE, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. DUKE

    DUKE
    [OP]
    Alfa as Fuck

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    K'town, ON
    This is for the computer gurus,

    Today when I came home, I turned on the computer and it said that my copy of the Windows didn't pass the genuinity inspection. it says "you may be a victim of software counterfeiting"

    what is this and how can I get rid of it?
     
  2. Pirate32

    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Call the 800 number and have ur serial code thingy ready
     
  3. DUKE

    DUKE
    [OP]
    Alfa as Fuck

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    K'town, ON
    umm there might be some problems with that :D
     
  4. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,535
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Williamswood
    Buy a legal copy.

    Problem solved.

    :lol:
     
  5. DUKE

    DUKE
    [OP]
    Alfa as Fuck

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    K'town, ON
    thanks for that very smart answer. I could have never thought of that my self in 100 years.

    You, you my sir, are a true genius.
     
  6. arsehole

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Halifax
    Steal a legal copy? :shrug2:
     
  7. Hiltzy

    .

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    19,971
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Dartmouth
    heh...I see an infraction coming for anybody who tells you how to crack your winXP :lol:
     
  8. Jester

    b00n

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,958
    Likes Received:
    11
    What version of XP is it? I have a few Legit XP Pro keys here.
     
  9. ingress

    _

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46,135
    Likes Received:
    124
    look fro the latest WGA fix on your favourite torrent site
     
  10. DUKE

    DUKE
    [OP]
    Alfa as Fuck

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    K'town, ON
    I am not sure what version of it... It is pretty old.

    Will look into that...


    I have an older computer at home with 4gb ram and Athlon processor. Do you guys think my computer can handle the vista?
     
  11. Jester

    b00n

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,958
    Likes Received:
    11
    Good lord yes. My PC is a athlon with 4gb and i'm running Windows 7 :kekeke:
     
  12. DUKE

    DUKE
    [OP]
    Alfa as Fuck

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    K'town, ON
    thanks for the info. I will look into getting vista then.
     
  13. visual_kool

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,689
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    the valley
    Just do the WGA patch. I have done that to a few machines before
     
  14. bnguitarman

    Shmir-nup

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Sprytown
    Call microsoft and tell them you can't read the license key. they will probably give you a new one. I have actually heard of this working in the past.

    :lol:
     
  15. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,311
    Likes Received:
    221
    Location:
    Canada
    also done this a few times
     
  16. DUKE

    DUKE
    [OP]
    Alfa as Fuck

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    K'town, ON
    will try the WGA. I might also get a new Vista at some point
     
  17. arsehole

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Halifax
    They most likely will. I got a copy and key from msdn at NSCC when I was there. The key only allowed 1 activation, and naturally I wanted a legit copy for my home PC too. I just called MS, got connected to a rep in India. I said hey look I had to format my PC and this key won't activate, whats the deal? They'll give you the usual 'Is this the only PC in your home it has been installed on'; the answer is Yes :lol: and they gave me a new key. I did this a couple of times actually. Whats the worse that can happen? Bill sends a hit squad packin pocket protectors :kekeke:
     

Share This Page