laptop hard drive

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Barbour, Feb 25, 2004.

  1. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    I want to format this hard drive but cant use it as a primary drive. Is it posible to hook it up as a slave in anouther laptop?
     
  2. Dural

    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    Laptops usually only have room or connections for one HD, although I could be wrong. There might be options to hook it up as an external drive but those parts would cost money.

    Question: Why can you not use it as a primary drive?
     
  3. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    Its already got windows on it and drivers from another computer(It was smashed)....will it work as a primary HD if I just pluged it in? I dont think it would....it may though
     
  4. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    Id love to hook it up as an external drive, but not sure if you can, also I dont see any jumpers on the back of this HD
     
  5. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    What you basically just said was "The cat jumped out of the apple and then bounced down the sky in china".. :D

    If it has windows on it why cant you boot up and format? All you would need would be a windows cd.

    Does it have a password set on it or something?
     
  6. Foster

    Toolboard

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In between places
    To me it sounds like your saying that the harddrive has windows on it and drivers but it wont work...probably because it came out of a HP or something or its going into a HP or Compaq or something....

    Anyways I can get the hard drive cloned for you if you need...
     
  7. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    Alright yeah, I dont know what I talking about haha..... All I really nead to know is if I can run an external drive in a laptop
     
  8. Dural

    Insert something witty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newmarket
    It could be possible.
     
  9. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    hahaha, ok, if there is an external IDE port on the laptop, you should be able too cause you can get external burners and cd-roms.. it "should" be just a matter of changing the CMOS on the laptop to boot from this other device..
     
  10. Ed

    Ed
    .

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    :rofl:
    wtf does that mean?
     
  11. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    That was exactly my point :wink:
     
  12. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    alright cool, I think I know what you mean....Ill have to buy a wire though....wheres the best place to pick one up?

    BTW anyone have any use for a 1 gig processer? I cant get it out of the board, so someone can have if they have any use for it
     
  13. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    Fucking amazing cat though, eh?
     
  14. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    How much? if your giving it away Ill take it
     
  15. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    hook me up with some help gearing up my laptop and its yours...its a pentuim 3, plus all kinds of parts
     
  16. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    So explain to me again why you cant use the hard drive IN the laptop already??
     
  17. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    oh I can....this one is just bigger
     
  18. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
  19. Davan

    do what now?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary
    I read this whole thread through a couple times, and still don't understand what you are trying to do....

    You want a second drive for a laptop? Just for more space? If so you can get external drives that connect via USB. That would be the easiest.

    Or consider removable media if all you need is extra storage space? You can easily add a cd-burner...


    You won't be able to run a second hard drive INSIDE a laptop. There will be no connector and no space for it. You won't be able to run a laptop hard drive outside the laptop either... you won't find a place to plug in the mini-ide connector outside the laptop.

    If you need to get data off the laptop drive, you can leave it as the only drive in the laptop, then burn the data to cd, or transfer via network... then put the second drive in and dump the data to it... or you can buy laptop hard drive mini-ide to desktop ide converters... and use the laptop drive in a regular desktop PC.

    Uhhh..... yeah.
     
  20. Barbour

    Barbour
    [OP]
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    halifax
    yeah, I decided to leave my laptop alone on acount of I dont know what im doing.... :crazy: :lol:
     
  21. STYLINator

    Missy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13,428
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Halifax

    Barbour= :rofl: :D
     
  22. jc

    jc
    in it

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Or, if you have the drive, you can just buy a USB case. That would be cheaper. If you have a Sony, Mac, or laptop geared for video editing then you'll be better off with a Firewire (i.link) case. It will be much faster (I'm guessing the laptop is old enough not to be USB 2). In fact, for a drive on any size USB wouldn't even be as fast as tape backup.
     

Share This Page