Is there a download limit for aliant

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by PhD, Jul 3, 2004.

  1. PhD

    PhD
    [OP]
    u mad cuz i'm stylin on u

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    International Playboy
    is there a maximum amount of shit you can download within a month before you get charged extra... someone told me when you go over 10gb or something for cable instead of charging extra they just limit your speed to 56k.


    anyone know?

    <looks at eisenflower>
     
  2. Halapine

    Resident frenchy

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Moncton and Fredericton
    i don't think they do.
    they did in the past but it didnt work.
     
  3. Excko

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoriaville
    is it with high speed or dial up? If you're on hse basic, you have a 2 gig combined bandwidth. Other than that, I don't think there is any limits.
     
  4. Excko

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoriaville
    *to halapine* Damn you ((kidding))... beat me by a minute :evil:
     
  5. Halapine

    Resident frenchy

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Moncton and Fredericton
    thats okay, thats what women are for :D
     
  6. LIVNLRG

    I'm Famous

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Downtown Hali!!!
    yep - no download limit - just bandwidth restrictions - so your speed is capped but you will never be charged for downloading too much
     
  7. JustMe

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dartmouth, NS
    Not all modems are capped on mpowered. I have one of the old ones and they can't cap it, it's awesome. I can get speeds of 500-600 K off some big company sites.

    JustMe
     
  8. KennyG

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N44°40.32136, W063°39.215
    Yep, Paradime modems are uncappable. Don't ever get rid of that thing, fight for it! Best connection you'll ever have probably. lol

    I think Aliant may have bandwidth restrictions, but are probably not monitored or inforced. I think most ISP's have them, but just don't enforce them for the most part.
     

Share This Page