1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Please!

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by STYLINator, Sep 29, 2004.

  1. STYLINator

    STYLINator
    [OP]
    Missy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13,428
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Halifax
    I need some to tell me what i am missing?

    My PC is acting really slow lately, My Hotmail is always telling me it can't find server and even RC is slow......

    So far I ran Ad-Aware, Spybot, and I ran a virus scan, and it is still really bad............................

    Any sugestions?

    **EDIT.....I also deleted my cookies, and temporary folders....and nothing, all sites are slow?
     
  2. bossman

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moncton
    do u have a firewall ??

    did up put SP2 if its Win XP ???

    Reinstall IE
     
  3. STYLINator

    STYLINator
    [OP]
    Missy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13,428
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Halifax
    Yes, Its a windows firewall...

    And SP2????

    Or IE? Im computer illiterit (SP)

    And I tried turning it of.....no help!
     
  4. munky

    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    5x8' area
    do a defragment, from ur accesories....
     
  5. STYLINator

    STYLINator
    [OP]
    Missy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13,428
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Halifax
    Doing now!
     
  6. STYLINator

    STYLINator
    [OP]
    Missy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13,428
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Halifax
    And it did not work.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  7. Lolife

    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal ooooh yeah!
    Alot of people had problems after installing XP's SP2.
     
  8. billybob

    The Schooner, the better.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    51,446
    Likes Received:
    261
    Throw that POS out and buy a new comp. Joe has a good one for sale. Do it up fag! :wink:
     
  9. visual_kool

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,690
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    the valley
    If you are connected via high speed (eastlink or sympathetico), you need to shut down your computer and unplug your modem for 5-10. They recommend refreshing the modem about once a month. If you have a router, unplug that too. Then plug the router and modem back in, wait a min and fire the pc back up.

    Let me know if that works.
     
  10. LMAC

    _

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    16,144
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Is it your connection that is slow or the computer its self?
     
  11. JBI

    JBI
    tight hole stimulator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mount Uniacke , NS
    I find that RC gets a bit slow to me sometimes too. I find nothing else is working slow but then I come on RC and the avatars are moving real slow and when I scroll down the page it is not smooth,like it freezes for a second at a time.
     
  12. STYLINator

    STYLINator
    [OP]
    Missy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13,428
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Halifax
    My Pc got 512 mb of ram...its not that!
     
  13. STYLINator

    STYLINator
    [OP]
    Missy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13,428
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Halifax
    \
    Hmmmmm
     
  14. bossman

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moncton
    Uninstall the SP2


    was it working fine before ?
     

Share This Page