The More You Know: Free Eastlink Internet Speed Upgrade

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by JoeLouie, Mar 17, 2015.

  1. JoeLouie

    JoeLouie
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    If you have Eastlink internet, and live in HRM you should have gotten a free speed upgrade today.

    High Speed Edge was 20/2, now 50/5 (as long as you have wifi, otherwise it's still 20/2). If you don't have wifi, it's only $2.95/month to add it and get 2.5x the upload/download speeds.
    High Speed Evolution is now 100/10
    High Speed Eclipse is now, 150/10
    High Speed Ultimate is now 400/10

    http://speedtest-east.eastlink.ca/ to check your speeds. If you're not getting the new speeds, just unplug your modem for a few seconds, plug it back in and you should be set.
     
  2. Chris

    Sandbar..anywhere better?

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    the sand....
    I was just speaking to Eastlink CSR about that.. shitty that its only in select areas of NS for now.. I told her we shouldnt be seeing the ads here on PEI.. lol
     
  3. TheOldskoo

    Huzzah!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax
    Verified, I have my 50/5. Interesting that I find out from someone that.. doesn't work for the company, lol. But then again they've been adding more downstreams/upstreams and aggressively node splitting for this for quite some time.
     
  4. JayCeeEhm

    printf("hello, world");

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Halifax
    IMHO not worth the extra $2.95/month and giving them control of my wifi. I will stick my router.
     
  5. JoeLouie

    JoeLouie
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    You can still use your own router if you want. It's easy to disable the modems wifi.
     
  6. v-mac

    Fire / Hazmat / GSAR

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,572
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Antigonish, NS
    Office connection.... we've got about 18 computers using it.... :(

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Scott

    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,332
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    Got a map or something?? Technically Im HRM. But I'm not sure I got the boost or not.
     
  8. JoeLouie

    JoeLouie
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    Doesn't look like you're getting it in this phase.

     
  9. Scott

    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,332
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    whores
     
  10. JoeLouie

    JoeLouie
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    The Eastlink system in Musquodoboit Harbour (and beyond) sucks compared to pretty much everywhere else in HRM.
     
  11. Scott

    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,332
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    can't argue with you there. They've been promising shit for a while now.
     
  12. TheOldskoo

    Huzzah!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax
    Yeah, those 600 nodes are ass.

    That said... I don't have 50 down, I only have half that. I'll take a peek at the the CMTS and node I'm on when I'm in the office next to see if I can see what's up, unless it's resolved by then.
     
  13. JoeLouie

    JoeLouie
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    I'm assuming you've already tried power cycling the modem? That fixed it for me, and a few other people.
     
  14. TheOldskoo

    Huzzah!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax
    Did that when I saw this thread yesterday. I have the 5 up, so I know it was changed. Not sure if there is congestion in my node or if there is some legitimate issue. I don't care enough to complain about it right now, I'm off til Saturday anyway.
     
  15. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    Faster speeds are good for all of us! Hopefully they bump the upstreams. 10mbps is pretty slow.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. JoeLouie

    JoeLouie
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    I don't foresee them bumping the upstreams anytime soon. As it is they just bumped the downstream up to what FibreOp was before they just recently bumped theirs up more.
     
  17. TheOldskoo

    Huzzah!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax
    We'll have to see what is in the works... upstream is the achilles heel of CATV plant. They may have more success with that with the continued rollout of gear capable of DOCSIS 3.1.
     
  18. nb132

    Drunk Batman hates you

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    28,903
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Tha 36 Chambers
    i'm envious of that upstream, boots. the 5mb is better than the 2 but 32 would be even better lol
     
  19. Burnsie

    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    Ditched Eastlink last month
    [​IMG]
     
    Boots likes this.
  20. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    Love FiberOp!
     
  21. Miss Shawty

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    15,311
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Halifax
    I don't think I've noticed the difference. :o
     
  22. Miss Shawty

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    15,311
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Halifax
    I'll do this once I'm home though! :D
     
  23. Scott

    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,332
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    Starting to think we did get the bump down here

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    Did Aliant bump again? God damn :bowdown:

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    ahhh, apparently they are load testing their network from June 4-24 so some people were ramped up temporarily.
     
  26. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    Actually this isn't entirely true. These speed bumps are permanent. They are testing for some other possible changes though :o
     
  27. TheOldskoo

    Huzzah!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax
    At that point it just becomes... why... :lol:
     
  28. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    That's not the attitude to have. That's like the cable company offering you more channels for the same cost and you say "No thanks, I already have enough channels"
     
  29. TheOldskoo

    Huzzah!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax
    I mean, I'm jealous, but at the same time there would never be any way I could consume that sort of downstream bandwidth.
     
  30. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    I make a living on my computer so I'll take all the bandwidth they'll give. Upstream boost is long overdue though :o
     
  31. TheOldskoo

    Huzzah!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Halifax
    Yeah.. upstream is the Achilles Heel of a cable network. Only so much time can be bought before moving on to another method of service delivery.
     
  32. hank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,413
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    Halifax
    As I've said before I'd rather the cost go down and the service remain the same instead of service going up and cost remaining the same.
     
  33. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75,152
    Likes Received:
    4,803
    Location:
    Halifax
    You say that now but this infrastructure growth opens up a whole bunch of new opportunities. Future products that we may end using everyday might only start being developed because residential internet speeds are increasing.
     
    Wayne likes this.
  34. hank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,413
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    Halifax
    True, but for now I would like to pay less than $100 a month for internet :lol:
     
    Boots likes this.
  35. arsehole

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Halifax
    [​IMG]
    that upload though...
     

Share This Page