1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dvd regions for burner

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by wade, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. wade

    wade
    [OP]
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moncton
    I just got a dell laptop and it came with a dvd burner with it. I installed dvd shrink on it and when i go to burn something it says the region for the dvd player is 0. When i go to change the region to 1 in the properties it's not allowing me and giving me some error. Does dell lock this and is there any way i can change the region to 1 so dvd shrink will work for me???
     
  2. Jimmy_B

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    Shouldnt be the dell computer. I just recently bought a dell computer and I have no problems using dvdshrink.
     
  3. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    You shouldn't have to change it. I'm pretty sure that if it's set at Region 0 it means that it'll play on any dvd player, no matter what the region is. I've burnt a few dvds with DVD Shrink on Region 0 and haven't had any problem playing them in various dvd players.
     
  4. John Doe

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    26,864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Region 0 should work, but yeah it's locked and you can't change it.
     
  5. IXLR8

    I concur

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hali
    Download AnyDVD by Slysoft. You won't have to worry about region codes anymore
     
  6. ZorK

    I post, therefore I exist

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    waaaaaaay down south
    you can always change the region of a ripped dvd with DVDDecrypter
     
  7. wade

    wade
    [OP]
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moncton
    The error message that i'm getting is when i'm trying to read any dvd before i actually shrink it. Dvd shrink is intalled and when i go to read disk that is where it's given me the message that the region is at 0 and not allowing to burn. I can play any sort of dvd, burnt or bought.
     
  8. ZorK

    I post, therefore I exist

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    waaaaaaay down south
    I;m telling u, get dvddecrypter, go to the option change region, browse for the folder which u ripped the dvd on and there u go
     

Share This Page