Cutting Cable

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by Scott, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. visual_kool

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,690
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    the valley
    OK, so school me on these devices. I am been without sat since last summer and would like something. I see there are starter kits for the RP at Amazon.ca and also devices such as AVOV (http://avov.tv/). Is there such a thing as a pvr version of these things? How hard is it to setup these devices? I have no Linux skills at all, so that is a consideration.
     
  2. Mitch

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    24,521
    Likes Received:
    717
    Location:
    Bedford
    There's sooo many of these boxes on Kijiji/Facebook/Amazon etc it's tough to pick one
     
  3. munky18t

    Unknown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    NS
    I picked up a minix X7 two years ago and it works flawlessly... it's only on Android 4.4 but it handles all i need it for, It basically turns your TV into a giant Android tablet.

    I'd avoid the pre-loaded boxes. Alot of these add-ons come and go, and if you don't learn how to look for an install different repos and add-ons, you'll soon be stuck with a box full of useless addons.

    No need for any knowledge of Linux, if you can use a smart phone, you can easily figure out these boxes
     
  4. Lex Lucas

    feels good.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,970
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    does kodi have chromecast support yet?
     
  5. Cheddar

    Red is the New Green

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    27,094
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    You sister's bedroom
    It probably went into sleep mode because basketball is boring as fuck.
     
    BenFrank and JoeLouie like this.
  6. arsehole

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Halifax
    Since updating my ATV2 w/ Kodi/XBMC was somewhat of a pain in the ass, and Kodi stopped support for the ATV2,.. I decided to give the Raspberry Pi3 a try.
    I picked this kit up on Amazon a couple a week ago.


    You don't need much if any Linux background, as there are a ton of different prebuilt options, and even more tutorials on YouTube that will show how to do it all.

    The SD card with the kit comes pre-installed with NOOBS which is pretty much a point and click launcher of a Choose Your Own OS.

    After some reading, I decided to use BerryBoot to dual boot OpenElec/Kodi & RetroPie/EumlationStation (retro game emulation). Honestly, the hardest/most time consuming part of that setup is getting your emulators and roms set up to work, but like I said there are a ton of videos for that too.

    I looked up some cheap remotes/IR receivers and this one works with my Harmony so I grabbed that as well.



    A
    nd I grabbed two of these USB - SNES style controllers the other month. (RetroPie actually has a bunch of different options for controllers, Xbox360, PS3 etc.)



    The remote actually has a directional button for mouse control and L/R click so that can come in handy, it also works right out of the box with no driver installs needed; same with the game pads.

    As for cutting the cable with Kodi, that's a different beast on its own with all the different plugins you can get. But like the rest of this stuff, there are a ton of tutorials on youtube that will show you what to get, and how to do it all. It's pretty simple.

    If you're looking to take something out of a box and plug in to the TV and start watching, this probably isnt for you and may want to check out the Android boxes, but if you want to be able to customize things and tinker around I'd give the RPie a try.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
    Boots, Coach and visual_kool like this.
  7. RoryTate

    Buffer the streaming media unto me.

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Rigaud, QC
    I went the pc route, a vid card with hdmi out was all it took, slap on some Kodi.
     
    BlackFire likes this.
  8. Gerald

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Halifax
    Have you guys installed the TV Guide yet? Man, this is the best $13 a month I've ever spent haha. I don't know if I'll keep it past hockey and basketball playoffs, but I'll definitely be back on it for regular season sports.
     
  9. redliner

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    15
    Just running it off my laptop.
     
  10. Stang

    Go Buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19,710
    Likes Received:
    473
    Could get CBC and CTV with rabbit ears ....but couldn't get Global.

    $40 antenna on the roof fixed that.
     
  11. clicker666

    Older lifter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    First Lake, Sackvegas!
    I'll probably do that in my next place - this place is way to high off the ground, and I'd have to screw around with holes in the house, running wires down and across the house... meh. The quality is amazing though - I gave mine to my kid, and he can get all the channels from his apartment in Clayton Park and can't believe the clarity.
     
  12. Stang

    Go Buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19,710
    Likes Received:
    473
    We just located it next to the old satellite dish and used the existing cables to run the signal to all the TV's.

    Pretty sweet for a $70 investment.
     
  13. Beaker

    Lifestyle Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    14,164
    Likes Received:
    490
    I'm about to move into a new place and currently just stream stuff on my laptop then mirror it through my tv. I'd like to get a stand alone box so I can watch hockey and stuff though.

    What should I do? I've never bought one before
     
  14. LMAC

    _

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    15,989
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Thats actually super smart haha. My only problem would be i think my old Sat dish isn't high enough to get a decent signal
     
    Stang likes this.
  15. Stang

    Go Buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19,710
    Likes Received:
    473
    Might be worth trying - Just don't bolt anything down until you know it works. :lol:
     
  16. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB
    go on amazon and order a box with kodi. they range from 50-150 dollars. they come pre installed with most things
     
  17. Mitch

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    24,521
    Likes Received:
    717
    Location:
    Bedford
    Talk to duggan
     
  18. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,442
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Canada
    Raspberry Pi 3
     
  19. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB
    these are the ones i run in my house and sell to friends. No complaints yet.
     
  20. hank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,413
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    Halifax
    Bascially one is as good as the next? Anyone have a recommendation for a couple of specific units within that price range?
     
  21. Dewie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    N.S.
    Where are you getting them? I'm looking to pick one up (am more than capable of setting it up myself - just realized my current one is a Pi 1 B+ and as such Kodi is out of date)
     
  22. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,442
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Canada
    Newest kodi version won't work on it?
     
  23. Dewie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    N.S.
    16.* apparently won't no....
     
  24. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,442
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Canada
    Shitty, I just got mine off amazon
     
  25. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB
    get a pi 3, it had built in wifi and bluetooth. Speeds are better and can use a 32gb card
     
  26. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB
    i'll have to check this out, i checked my old pi2 and they are running 15.2 kodi.

    i have a pi 3 but its not hooked up right now.
     
  27. Dewie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    N.S.
    Pi3 has been ordered, be here today or tomorrow.
     
    MRA likes this.
  28. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB
    https://www.tvaddons.ag/

    i just install the linux hub wizard and it does the rest itself. Give you their top recommended programs
     
  29. BenFrank

    Saucin on You

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    HRM
    Sorry to necro this thread but can you explain?

    And StangStang which outdoor antenna did you use?
     
  30. Stang

    Go Buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19,710
    Likes Received:
    473
    It was an outdoor antenna from The Source - I'll see if I can find the model number.
     
  31. visual_kool

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,690
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    the valley
    Finally got off my arse and installed Kodi on my laptop. Installed the Config Wizard on top of it. Not sure why I didn't do this months ago
     
  32. infatuous

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    17,510
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    halifax
    I tried Kodi but all the movie files were either hand helds or Asian subs. Where did I go wrong?
     
  33. visual_kool

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,690
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    the valley
    Thus far I've been using it for tv shows and live soccer
     
  34. clicker666

    Older lifter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    First Lake, Sackvegas!
    What are you using to stream? I'm using Exodus as my primary, then 1Channel and Specto. I've tossed in the Trakt.tv addon to keep an eye on stuff. For movies you'll need to see what's actually out there in release world - ie - this great site one of our users gave me: http://www.scnsrc.me/. You would be looking for BDRips, BDScr (in some cases), DVD Rip, DVD Scr (in some cases) and avoid most other sources. I mention sometimes with the SCReeners because around awards season they release a lot of high quality movies that are still in the theatres for award review. Usually they only have a little note in a few scenes saying that it's for awards consideration only, but generally the quality is decent. HD rips are sometimes acceptable - they're usually PPV movies that people have somehow picked up. In a lot of the cases they have hard coded subtitles, but this isn't a guarantee, in other cases they're perfectly viewable.

    For TV I just tend to take the top one in the list HD, or 1080P whatever it says and it's usually more than watchable and fast.
     
  35. infatuous

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    17,510
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    halifax
    I was using Exodus. With my usual Torrent methods I have no problem discerning between rip types but I find with Kodi there is not indication of the type of rip it is until you're playing it.
     

Share This Page