Cutting Cable

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by Scott, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. hank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,413
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    Halifax
    I must be the only person that doesn't enjoy kodi/xbmc. I might have to give it another try and do some research into setting it up. Seems that only half of what I find wants to actually work for me.

    Still using Popcorn Time for anything not Netflix related but can't access it from the pos boxee box in my bedroom.
     
  2. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,429
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Canada
    I've never not found what I want and have none of the sources work

    It can be frustrating sometimes to have to try 15 sources to find one that works decent.
     
  3. hank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,413
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    Halifax
    Exactly this
     
  4. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB
    i just recently started using raspberry pi 2's and cut all my cable
     
  5. BenFrank

    Saucin on You

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    HRM
    Yeah I'm running an old laptop wireless HDMI'd into the tv... used hub wizard to config Kodi and was playing around with Phoenix and Genesis and 1Channel last night tried to watch Weeds season 4 had to pick MQ to find a source that would buffer.

    Hard selling the misses on it when I'm like look how awesome this is... then it's crickets while I search for a stream that actually works :(

    Maybe it'll be better on a hard wired dedicated android box.
     
  6. Scott

    Scott
    [OP]
    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,334
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    yeah i use a Roku 3, plex and usenet to get most of my regular shows. With Plex i have letmewatchthis which is essentially the same as 1channel. It all mostly works, but its a pain when stuff doesnt, have to reset the computer, i find the Roku needs a restart every 3-4 days or it gets brutally slow. i wish things just "worked" like a regular cable box.

    Need to look at a new TV soon. Will be looking at smart TV's, either Samsungs smart hub or Sony has Android TV's.
     
  7. munky18t

    Unknown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    NS
    I'm still running my Minix X7, it's been a wicked device

    Genesis is working like shit lately, the dev hasn't pushed an update since November I believe so it's not pulling the most up to date sources. Apparently he has a new add-on in the works. A lot of people have swtiched from Genesis to S.A.L.T.S ( Stream ALl The Sources)
     
  8. 17

    17
    teenage dirtbag

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    33,497
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    roku 3 and plex :bowdown: probably getting another roku for the bedroom. so i personally havent watched cable for weeks now. but ill keep it around because my wife watches some shows and i really dont want to be tasked with downloading them every week.
     
  9. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    I've had my Roku 3 hooked up in my bedroom for a little over 3 weeks now and I think I restarted it once. I'm used to resetting my WDTV every few days, so this is a nice change.
     
  10. Scott

    Scott
    [OP]
    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,334
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    mine seemed ok at first, but after so many months, like i said, restarts every few days.

    I think my other annoyance is how slow my PC is that hosts my plex server. its a pain to do much of anything. Another reason I'd rather just have a all in one solution, ditch the PC somehow.

    JoeLouieJoeLouie what are some of your top Roku/plex channels?
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016
  11. Stang

    Go Buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19,710
    Likes Received:
    473
    I personally won't look at anything but a Samsung. Sony blocking content has totally turned me off of them.
     
  12. Scott

    Scott
    [OP]
    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,334
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    please explain. what content?
     
  13. Cheddar

    Red is the New Green

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    27,073
    Likes Received:
    771
    Location:
    You sister's bedroom
    I'm assuming porn or video game trailers.
     
  14. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB

    it's your buffering and cache settings.

    try this

     
  15. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB

    Genesis is terrible lately.
     
  16. Bandit

    I Miss Summer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Red Deer, AB

    I got 2 raspberry pi's, plug them in with a network cable and in 10 minutes openelec is installed with Kodi. The you can do the hub wizard for all the top add on's or program yourself. You can be up and running in 30 minutes.
     
  17. munky18t

    Unknown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    NS
  18. Scott

    Scott
    [OP]
    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,334
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    i was playing with my folks Ripple-TV yesterday. I found Phoenix to work pretty well through kodi.
     
  19. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,429
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Canada
    there are so many options now to get rid of cable.

    I manly use 1 Channel, but phoenix is good to, as well as sports devil
     
  20. hank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,413
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    Halifax
    Any good resources out there for live sports?

    I watch most over the air on CBC, CTV or Global when available and 1st row when desperate
     
  21. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,429
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Canada
    sports devil is my go to for sports, they have live streams
     
    hank likes this.
  22. munky18t

    Unknown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    NS
    I was thinking of trying 1Channel for a Genesis replacement, many issues with buffering?
     
  23. MRA

    MRA
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,429
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Canada

    I have buffering issues maybe 1% of the time
     
    munky18t likes this.
  24. Stang

    Go Buy a Ford

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19,710
    Likes Received:
    473
    Sony TV's will not play MKV formated files from a flash drive for example - so all downloaded HD content basically.

    A friend talked to a Samsung rep and they said they believe what you do with your TV is your business ...... SOLD !
     
    clicker666 likes this.
  25. Gerald

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Halifax
    clicker666, JoeLouie and hank like this.
  26. hank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,413
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    Halifax
    Never thought to look there!
     
  27. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    clicker666 likes this.
  28. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    The only Roku apps that I use are Plex and Netflix. I suppose the MLB.tv app will get some use in the spring if I'm going to watch in the bedroom, but I download all my shows, unless I'm watching something on Netflix.

    I use Sonarr to manage my shows (used to use SickBeard, but gave Sonarr a shot and I like it more), that send them to SABnzbd to download, and my Plex server automatically adds them, so I can watch on the Roku in the bedroom or Xbox One in the living room. I do have a few Plex channels installed, but other than watching an episode or two of Mythbusters on the Discovery Networks channel, I haven't really used them.

    My computer isn't lightning fast either, but I have no problems using Plex on 2 devices at the same time, as long as I'm not trying to game on the PC as the same time.
     
    Scott likes this.
  29. Hiltzy

    .

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    19,971
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Dartmouth
    I use Playon instead of Kodi....works flawless. Cable heading out the door EOM

    I also use Sonarr to manage my TV eps...works great.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2016
  30. Scott

    Scott
    [OP]
    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,334
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    I cant get sonarr set up. copy and pasted my settings over from sick beard, but still fails on the test connection. something with the localhost part
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2016
  31. Dewie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    N.S.
    sonarr team signing in.
     
  32. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    If I remember correctly, by default Sickbeard uses port 8081 and Sonarr uses port 8989. That could be part of the problem you're having if you just copied the settings.
     
    Hiltzy likes this.
  33. Scott

    Scott
    [OP]
    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,334
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    DewieDewie got me all set up today :) you didnt answer my hangouts message :o
     
  34. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    After flashing my phone with CM12, I don't think I've even installed Hangouts. You're literally the only person I talk to on it :lol:
     
  35. Scott

    Scott
    [OP]
    rawr

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37,334
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    East Jeddore NS
    So you use what now?
     

Share This Page