1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer turns off randomly, no warning

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by drose, Sep 2, 2004.

  1. drose

    drose
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    New Brunswick
    Win XP professinal on 2.4Ghz

    -All windows updates done with exception of SP2
    -Run AVG 6.0, did search with that, spybot and housecall.antivirus.com, found nothing
    -Used to think it was tied to the computer being on for long periods of time ( over 30 hours ), but it just shut off on me after being on for an hour.
    -Just out of the blue turns off solid, no warning whatsoever. Doesn't go through any type of proper shut down procedure, it's like the power plug is just yanked and then plugged back in and it comes back up.
    -Well ventilated on all sides
     
  2. SilverMan

    The Spud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Porter's Lake
    is the processor fan turning?
     
  3. drose

    drose
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    New Brunswick
    haven't cracked the case yet :shrug: .... I can hear a at least one fan going though :confused: I suppose I should stop being so lazy and open it up
     
  4. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    76,449
    Likes Received:
    5,406
    Location:
    Halifax
    Replace your power supply.
     
  5. Burnsie

    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
     
  6. cyberphox

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Turn off the option to automatically reboot on errors.
    Right click my computer..properties..click advanced tab..click settings in startup and recovery..uncheck automatically reboot. Maybe you might be able to get a blue screen error from that and troubleshoot further..
     
  7. LMAC

    _

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    16,145
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Ottawa
     
  8. drose

    drose
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    New Brunswick
    Tried this since it's cheaper than getting a pwer supply ;)



    Got following eror:

    " Problem caused by win32k.sys

    Page_Fault_In_Nonpaged_Area "

    it told me to restart and check to see if any new hardware or software has been installed recently ( not in six months at least I would say )
     
  9. Burnsie

    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    format!
     
  10. BoOdOg

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Breton
    :imwithst:

    I would blame nvidia driver usually but you haven't install anything in 6 months so format and call it done
     
  11. hoodie

    myotheravhasagoodtitle

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    could be a few things. either try eleminating your ram piece by piece if you have more then one stick because one of them might be fucked. Or it could just some corrupt files on your drive. Either way windows is trying to use a memory address thats either to not there or was directed to the wrong address.
    Good luck man. BSoD errors are the worst....
     
  12. Burnsie

    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    run memtest86 is you think its ram, this trial and error ram testing is BS
     
  13. cyberphox

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Win32k.sys stands for bad video driver or card if your
    stop code ends with "1E".

    What's the stop code on it?
     

Share This Page