1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

computer hook up 2 tv?

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by PUN, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. PUN

    PUN
    [OP]
    RC OG

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prospect
    im sure it's possible, I wanna hook the computer to the tv just so I can watch some movies, the computer is in a different room than the living room, but the cable would only have to be like 10 feet long (drill through wall)

    so yea what's got to be done?
     
  2. IXLR8

    I concur

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hali
    You need to make sure your video card has a video out, the connect the cable from that output to the input on your tv. Audio will still come from your computer speakers, unless you connect your sound card to your tv as well, or stereo receiver
     
  3. PUN

    PUN
    [OP]
    RC OG

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prospect
    hmm
     
  4. ingress

    _

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46,138
    Likes Received:
    128
  5. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
  6. vero

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    do you have a S-Video port on your computer?
     
  7. Tank

    Guest

    and does your tv have an s-video slot?
     
  8. vero

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    that doesn't matter as much as whether or not the computer does. My laptop has a S-Video outlet but my TV has RCA jacks, I just got a cable that converts S-Video to RCA
     
  9. Tank

    Guest

    it's all relevant my friend


    i wish i had a wireless s-video cord
     
  10. vero

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    :confused: I was just gonna start with the important part... if your comp. has S-Video it doesn't really matter what your TV has as long as it has some kind of input (RCA or S-Video) and most tv's made since the 80's do
     
  11. Tank

    Guest

    but if his tv has an s-video slot he does not have to deal with converters

    since IXLR8 already went over the video card, i figured i'd ask about the tv
     
  12. vero

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    I don't have a converter :shrug: it's just a different cable
     
  13. Lowvez

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Also get a cord that converts the headphone jack into stereo RCA's for the sound to come out of the TV too...
     
  14. Tank

    Guest

  15. vero

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    got one of those too, 'cause laptop speakers suck
     
  16. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    76,352
    Likes Received:
    5,324
    Location:
    Halifax
    Be warned that computer text is nearly impossible to read on a television :)
     
  17. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    I don't find it too bad, but it all depends on how big the tv is, how close/far you're going to be sitting from it and what resolution you're using.
     
  18. billybob

    The Schooner, the better.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    51,444
    Likes Received:
    257
    I wish our cuntish wireless router would actually work in this stupid plaster house.
     
  19. JoeLouie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Lower Sackville
    :wtf: a wireless cord? how exactly does that one work? :kekeke:
     
  20. Winter Hill Gang

    n00d

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Live from St. Mary's
    Meh ... Our proscan TV looks fine running as a computer monitor. you just have to sit farther away. Then again it was made with for this kind of application. :cool:
     
  21. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    76,352
    Likes Received:
    5,324
    Location:
    Halifax
    My Wega is impossible to read @ 1024x768
     
  22. Dunkn

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    Would it be hard to read on a 51'?
     

Share This Page