Cleaning SLR

Discussion in 'Photography' started by thagurlnextdoor, Jan 20, 2009.

1. thagurlnextdoor

Okay you may have coevered this before but I have an eyelash of some sort inside my slr... I can't see it when you remove the lens but you can when your taking a pic/looking through the lens...

What is the best way to clean it without breaking anything??

:happysad: Im a newb

2. Arod

Is it a film or digital SLR? Is it only visible when looking through the viewfinder or does it show up on images as well?

3. Getson

It may be on the mirror or the sensor, if it's a digital SLR. You will probably have a mirror lock-up feature in the menu. Try activating that, then removing your lens. It will probably look a little different than if you had looked prior to activating that feature. You'll be looking at the sensor of the camera. You could be able to blow it off from here. I would probably recommend a bulb blower rather than your lungs.

4. grahamr

GrahamR :D

to further this question, if you can see it in the viewfinder and not in the photo when stopped down to f22 or so, then its on the prism up top, blow it out with a blower.

if you can see it in the viewfinder AND in a photo when stopped down to f22 or so, it is on your lens. back side. blow it off with a blower.

if you can't see it in the viewfinder, but it shows up when you take a picture @ f22 or so, its on the sensor (well, the filter above the sensor) put the camera in mirror lock-up and blow it out with a blower.

Hold the body so the opening faces down when using the blower so that gunk falls out, not blows up and falls back in place.

if its still on the sensor you may need to do something a bit more, like use a contact cleaner.

i suggest taking test photos of a wall at a small aperture like f22ish, that way from frame to frame you can look for the dust/dirt etc in photoshop.

5. Arod

Since she is a noob this information would probably be way out of her league.