boot disk?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by thunder, Oct 12, 2003.

  1. thunder

    thunder
    [OP]
    my av is me

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    28,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    calgary
    How do I get one?
     
  2. Davan

    do what now?

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary
  3. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,564
    Likes Received:
    3,801
    Location:
    Halifax
    Good site. Use it all the time.
     
  4. thunder

    thunder
    [OP]
    my av is me

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    28,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    calgary
    Dont make me look like a jackass or anything..
     
  5. Wolfe

    p/t Firefighter - 24/7

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antigonish
  6. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    which operating system do you need a boot disk for?

    most you can create a boot disk, but going into control panel/add.remove programs/third tab over is create startup disk.
    not 100 percent sure its this way with winXP or win 2000 but 95/98/ME are like that
     
  7. 96GSR

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moncton, NB
    Not with XP.
     
  8. nb132

    Drunk Batman hates you

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    28,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Tha 36 Chambers
    wtf would u want a bootdisk for anyway? unless ur using like an olllld ass win 95 or like win 3.1 or something...just go to bios and have it so that u can boot from cd..start the pc with the install cd in the drive..presto.;..it will ask u if u wanna boot from cd.
     
  9. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    Yup, Boot disk's are a thing of the past, even win98 second edition was a bootable cd. hopefully your pc isn't so old it doesn't have the optiong ot boot from cd.
     
  10. LMAC

    _

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    15,741
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Ottawa
    boot disk's are good for FDISK if you need it thats about it
     
  11. LIVNLRG

    I'm Famous

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Downtown Hali!!!
    :werd:
     
  12. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,564
    Likes Received:
    3,801
    Location:
    Halifax
    :lol:

    I take it you guys don't work in the IT field.

    There are TONS of aging computers out there that don't support the bootable CD standard not to mention you'll often find yourself in a situation with no access to a CD burner to make a bootable CD.. oh and the most ironic thing?? To make a boot CD, you need a boot floppy to use as a source :rofl:
     
  13. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    This is true, but the "LEAGAL" copy of Windows 98 second edition and above are all bootable from factory. So, hence you don't need a boot disk to make those cd's. And anyone who doesn't have access to a cd burner somewhere now a days is in some serious need of upgrading.

    By the way, I do work in the IT feild and have for the past 4 years.
     
  14. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73,564
    Likes Received:
    3,801
    Location:
    Halifax
    IT industry in Bridgewater = fixing the cash registers at McDonalds :lol: :p
     
  15. LMAC

    _

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    15,741
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Ottawa
  16. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    Just for the record, I have worked in both major buisnesses in this town as IT, and both were a bit more than fixing the cash at MacDonalds. Although if they asked me to do it I would :)

    But to set the record strraight, there is a nice big hospital here that I work in now, I have worked in the call center that is here and I got my start at the QeII.....you want credentials...how's that?
     

Share This Page