Anyone running a DVB Card?

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by Burnsie, May 28, 2004.

  1. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    I got one a few weeks ago. HDTV, DD5.1, PVR, Direct Stream Capture (8min HDTV -> 750MB), EPG, Ect...

    100x better than my 3100

    Anyone else play with this shit?
     
  2. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    some one has to be playing with this besides me
     
  3. beaker

    Guest

    the internet is on computers nowadays?
     
  4. Cody

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cowtown
    I will be. :bananada:

    DishNet + DVB card = the shizzle my nizzle.

    I'm going to build a PVR with mine, hooray for ghetto tivo!
     
  5. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    how much does one of those goes for ?
     
  6. Cody

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cowtown
    Around $180 with a 4 LNB mixer.
     
  7. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    interesting :D
     
  8. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    PVR function is gold..... can you PVR any HDTV with real dish/bev IRD's? Because i can with my dvb, its 10x better than i thought it would be.

    You can run bell and dish on the same card.... I have sats: 82,91,110,119 none of that :gay: smartcard/atmega BS either, just a .ini file and you're set.

    The 3100 is sittin in the corner collecting dust now :evil:
     
  9. Civic h/b

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N.B.
    What DVB card did you buy, Skystar2?
     
  10. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    twinhan 1020a
     
  11. Civic h/b

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N.B.
    What about a channel guide?
     
  12. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    I bought a 32" Vega less then 6 months ago... I couldn't just watch tv on my computer
     
  13. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    do you not have TV out on your comp? does your wega have component video input and accept 480i? or 1080i?

    there is a prog called myEPG that runs un the MyTheatre software.... its much better than the guide on any IRD.

    http://www3.nf.sympatico.ca/canuck/
     
  14. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    but I'd have to get up to change channels :cry:
     
  15. Cody

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cowtown
    The twinhan card comes with a USB IR receiver and a remote. :evil:
     
  16. Civic h/b

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N.B.
    What type of PC do you run with this set up? I've read you need at least a P3. If you use a newer machine, like a P4 can you use the computer for other purposes while satellite testing?
     
  17. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    need a 1ghz for just SDTV, and no HDTV

    im running it on a XP2500+ 512DDR, works great. SDTV uses about 15% CPU, HDTV 50-80%
     
  18. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    anyone get this yet?
     
  19. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    Honestly I thought about it, but I just can't see the point... I'd much rather watch it on a 32" vvega then a 17" LCD :D
     
  20. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    you don't have tv out?

    HDTV, PVR, DD 5.1, ect.... And you can burn dvd's of anything on tv.

    I use mine in my bedroom right now, 19" Flat CRT, have an HTPC case on the way to clean the desk up a bit (stack the comp and the amp)

    Gonna fire this computer in the stereo cabinet after i graduate.
     
  21. SilverMan

    The Spud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Porter's Lake
    I'm thinking about doing this when I move at the end of the month. I have an Athalon 1GHz pc to throw in the stereo cabinet in the living room.

    My biggest fear is wasting money on this stuff. I'd hate to purchase the equipment only to have the stuff go down like direct tv did.

    So with this dvr card I can get Dish and ExpressVU??

    Anyone have an extra dish lying around :)
     
  22. Burnsie

    Burnsie
    [OP]
    .:\'.'/:.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Coldbrook, NS
    Yes you can.... it can receive any DVB signal, decrypting it is another story. Nagra1 isn’t an issue at all, but dish is moving towards Nagra2, this is even a problem for people with receivers as Nagra2 hasn’t been cracked yet. The guys in Europe are working on it. Currently Dish broadcasts in Nagra1 and Nagara2, BEV only in Nagra1. I would say you will get a few miles out of it, BEV is always behind.
     
  23. Slothy

    Lurker Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Glasgow, NS
    N2 dvb has been working flawlessly for over a month now, as is FTA. New card (avr-x and syndrome) are being released this week to be used in current dish recievers. These new cards are based on the rom101 so they will not work on expressvu. Once rom102 is comprimised, then expressvu will not be an issue.
     
  24. Tony

    Think Happy Thoughts!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    14,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haliwood
    where abouts can one of these be picked up & how much? other than the dish what all would I need to rig this up?
     
  25. blue dragon

    superdupertrooper

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pickering Ontario
    Can someone point me to forums for N2 stuff. I have a FTA receiver from a buddy and I get dish on 110 and 119, but this DVB card sounds interesting since the FTA stuff is not HD, and no DD5.1 :(
     
  26. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    I'm thinking of picking up a 102 card and sitting on it..
     
  27. Slothy

    Lurker Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Glasgow, NS
    I mod on dss-newbies.net a lot of usefull info there.
    Tony, ebay is a the cheepest place to get one, usually under $100 cdn to your door. There are a lot of shops that sell them, usually under $150cdn shiped COD.
    Boots, hold onto your money for a while longer, the syndrom card has been dumped and is working on atmega, hopefully to be released as freeware in the comming weeks (we hope they release it by then). Big dealers are making millions off of the rom101 work around and are trying to get them to hold off a bit. Anything expressvu is a while off yet. The rom102 and higher cards havent been comprimised yet, regardless of what some people have posted on dss forums.
     
  28. Tony

    Think Happy Thoughts!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    14,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haliwood
    What exactly should I be looking for? is there a specific card? or name?
     
  29. Slothy

    Lurker Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Glasgow, NS
  30. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    Well I bought a 102 card... only $30 shipped :kekeke:
     
  31. Slothy

    Lurker Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Glasgow, NS
    Shit for that kind of money, you should have bought a couple. They will be worth their weight in gold someday, just like the HU cards were when the H card died on DTv.
     
  32. Boots

    www.reality-check.ca

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    74,857
    Likes Received:
    4,640
    Location:
    Halifax
    I bought 3 actually... if they get cracked my brother and father will need one ;)
     

Share This Page