1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another Question for you computer saavy peeps...

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by Skyline, Oct 26, 2004.

1. Skyline

Skyline
    [OP]

Hey do you know if serial HD's actually run faster than the regular PCI ones? I heard a guy today claim he loaded WinXP in like 5 mins on a SATA drive...and was intrigued... :o

So, I'm thinking of getting a new motherboard this week, one that actually supports SATA HD. I'm cheap, and I found this one:
    http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=KT6V-LSR&class=mb
    Any comments? I've never worked on an MSI MB before, but I've been happy with the router and wireless network I have from MSI. I can get this board for less than $100.

2. DJQ

DJQ

It takes more then the speed of a drive to cut down install time.. RAM, and CPU speed are also big factors

3. Skyline

Skyline
    [OP]

I know that, but all things remaining equal, does the S-ATA interface work better/faster than the PCI?

4. Cody

The specifacation your are refering to is PATA (80 pin cables) not PCI.

SATA is ever so slightly faster than PATA due to a slightly faster throughput capability (150mb/sec vs 133mb/sec) but you won't see that in a real world PC. The fact of the matter is that most IDE 8mb cache drives won't exceed 45-50 mb/sec throughput on average because once you fill the drive's buffer you have to wait for it to commit it to disk before it will accept more data, this is the pitfall of the mechanical system. Even the highest end disk drives don't exceed 60-70mb/sec throughput. SATA also provides each disk with it's own data bus so on a system with multiple disks this can mean increased performance (especially in RAID configurations).