Aliant HSU rocks

Discussion in 'Reality Check' started by Arod, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. Arod

    Arod
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    19,229
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Stratford, PE
    [topping out at a whopping 1.5kb/s on downloads when connected directly to either computer:lol:]

    Now I have to wait for the issue to be "escalated" or whatever after the tech checked network settings. How can one get a job at Aliant tech support...they do sweet fuck all.
     
  2. nb132

    Drunk Batman hates you

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    28,903
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Tha 36 Chambers
    i hated it. i switched back to east stink super fast. wait...they do have eastlink HSI over there, right? if not i'm going to need a LOT of cat5 cable
     
  3. Ryan

    Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, NS
    haha, I see no images here :lol:

    Eastlink high speed is quite fast over here tho, I get around 1.5MB/s from good servers
     
  4. HatMan

    Pentaxian Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, NS
    Wow... I thought my Aliant connection with 3Mb/s speed were slow.
     
  5. photoshadow

    Paintball Life... Jokes.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moncton NB
    i don't know what we have here at X. But i know when its late at night 2am, torrents can fly up to 1.8mbs so i'm guessing were getting far greater then a 3mb connection... Considering at home aliant we have the 3mb and it only allows torrents max... 5kb
     
  6. Arod

    Arod
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    19,229
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Stratford, PE
    Holy fack i must have been tired...wrong forum!
     
  7. Cheddar

    Red is the New Green

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    27,291
    Likes Received:
    878
    Location:
    You sister's bedroom
    X being St. FX?

    That's Eastlink.
     
  8. Hiltzy

    .

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    19,971
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Dartmouth
    Cable > ADSL. buy a fuckin country mile.
     
  9. Crandall

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    HRM
    I'm impresses that he even has high speed now!
     
  10. nb132

    Drunk Batman hates you

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    28,903
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Tha 36 Chambers
    ANSWER MY QUESTION IS THERE FUCKING EASTLINK CABLE INTERWEBS IN CHARLOTTETOWN?????!!!!!!!????????????????????
     
  11. RoryTate

    Buffer the streaming media unto me.

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,568
    Likes Received:
    770
    Location:
    Rigaud, QC
    Dialup for Mosher FTW. :)
     
  12. Cody

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cowtown

    Only for about 8 years or so. :lol: They have indoor plumbing too!
     
  13. nb132

    Drunk Batman hates you

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    28,903
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Tha 36 Chambers
    ok, phew. i guess i'm just surprised he's not using that.
    thank fuck.
     
  14. Arod

    Arod
    [OP]
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    19,229
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Stratford, PE
    I have a dedicated line and he gave me the semiens gigaset modem and not it is 11ty billion times faster. He did a test at the modem and it was registering at 7mb down which is more than acceptable for me for aliant.
     
  15. Jimmy_B

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    Aliant controls their HSI speeds in 2 ways. First they set the speed of your HS port. Normally for an ultra account it's a profile of 8000/640. Once the port is set to the proper profile, you then restrict the speed via the login. I'd call to check and make sure that your login is set for the ultra profile.

    You can also ask them to run a HSI query. It will tell them other information such as attenuation and signal to noise. Normally, signal to noise is in the 7-20db range (the higher the better) and attenuation anywhere from 5-40db (the lower the better). I'd ask for those figures as they determine a lot about the quality of your connection.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009

Share This Page