adding a hard-drive???

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by midden, Nov 30, 2003.

  1. midden

    midden
    [OP]
    I LIKE TO EAT MITTENS

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, nova scotia, Can
    so i got this new hard drive eh (canadian, yes) and its about...20 gigs...i wanna put it in the computer....how much crap will i have to go through to get it in...or is there any?
     
  2. melrhombus

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Not where I want to be
    Plug it in....your done.
    If you have a computer that's at least 3 years old or newer the bios should automagically find it for you
     
  3. HW

    HW
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    I've got a computer thats 5 years old, when I added my second hard-drive this summer, it automatically configured it for me, all I had to do was plug it in!
     
  4. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    If you don't have a BIOS that will config automatically. Set the second Hard Drive to slave, via the jumper settings on the drive itself. Then hook it up.....start Pc...go into BIOS and set the Primary IDE slave to hard drive.

    Then save settings and exit, should be as simple as that.
     
  5. midden

    midden
    [OP]
    I LIKE TO EAT MITTENS

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, nova scotia, Can
    did i mention im lousy at knowing what people are talking about when it comes to computers?
    i dont wanna sound like a major idiot, but what is BIOS?
     
  6. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    Holds the settings for how your PC runs and manages all its hardware..
     
  7. Hornblower

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary
    basically just plug it in and remeber to ground your self first or your gonna have a load of problems.
     
  8. midden

    midden
    [OP]
    I LIKE TO EAT MITTENS

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, nova scotia, Can
    im guessing that has something to do with static and stuff...ill put a drier sheet in my pocket!
    thanks guys.
     
  9. Karaoke Queen

    Born to Sing

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
    and don't wear metal rings
     
  10. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    I can see the follow up post now "My computer dosent work anymore!!"
     
  11. midden

    midden
    [OP]
    I LIKE TO EAT MITTENS

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, nova scotia, Can
    yeah me too! oh well, maybe ill get someone else to do it, and ill just watch.
     
  12. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    holy shit,the guy is putting in a hard drive not taking out the main board. ground yourself by putting bare skin against the metal part of the case....like your forearm. That makes you that same potential as the case. A hard drive is easy to setup....you won't need to worry about what is on your fingers so long as the pc is off.

    a lot of people are worried over this, and some with due right....but i have never seen anyone fry a hard drive by just putting it in. remember, the cables only fit one way....don't force them :)
     
  13. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    Actually Cables fit both ways but only works one way(power dosent, but IDE will) they can go in upside down and jumpers will need to be set... and putting bare skin against metal isnt grounding.. Stand a piece of metal in your bare feet and grab a live wire and see how that works for ya :D

    It dosent matter if your taking the motherboard out or just putting in a HD or adding RAM.. Static is your enemy :D Its not required, just a precaution though i guess..

    regardless, installing a HD is not a tough job..
     
  14. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    yeah but its called grounding against the case....it makes your electricity level the same as the case....I have been working with pc's for 5 years and have never fried anything...and also have only ever grounded this way.

    regardless you are right, it is an easy job. and newer hard drives are keyed and the ide cable will only fit the way it is meant too. but i have seen older ones that weren't.
     
  15. midden

    midden
    [OP]
    I LIKE TO EAT MITTENS

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, nova scotia, Can
    thanks guys
     
  16. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    no problem, good luck with it.
     
  17. DJQ

    DJQ
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aliant
    If the cord dosent go in easy just drip some water on it for lubrication and tap it with a hammer :D
     
  18. Xtreme989

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgewater
    lol, or put some vasoline on it.....it works for anything else that doesn't go in easy :lol:
     
  19. midden

    midden
    [OP]
    I LIKE TO EAT MITTENS

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, nova scotia, Can
    im sure it will be fine without it.
     

Share This Page